Center for Disaster and Risk Analysis Internship List

This list includes the names of organizations working in hazards, disasters, and/or emergency management that have indicated a potential interest in working with Sociology undergraduate students who need to complete their 150-hour internship requirement. Many of these internship organizations are local—in Fort Collins, Loveland, Greeley, Denver, or other surrounding areas. However, Sociology students have completed internships across the United States and in foreign countries. Remember, it is your responsibility to make contact with possible internship locations to set up your internship. Again, if an organization is listed below, it simply means that they have indicated an interest in possibly working with Colorado State University students. There is no guarantee that these organizations will have openings in the future. Thus, it is imperative that you start early with setting up your internship and that you pursue multiple possibilities to ensure the best fit and internship experience possible. You can learn more about the Sociology internship program requirements here: http://www.sociology.colostate.edu/undergrad/internships.

American Red Cross: Mile High Chapter
Contact: Lori Geres, Director Volunteer Services
(303) 607-4759 (p)
(720) 289-5616 (c)
Email: Lori.Geres@redcross.org

Boulder Office of Emergency Management
Contact: Merrie Leach, Emergency Management Coordinator
(303) 441-3647
Email: mleach@bouldercounty.org

Center for Integrated Disaster Preparedness
Contact: Debra Kreisberg, Director
12401 East 17th Avenue, Box B215
Aurora, CO 80045
Email: debra.kreisberg@ucdenver.edu

City of Brighton Office of Emergency Management/Police
Contact: Rebecca Martinez, Emergency Management Coordinator
3401 E. Bromley Lane
Brighton, CO 80601
(303) 655-2316
Email: rmartinez@brightonco.gov

City of Fort Collins Office of Emergency Management
Contact: Mike Gavin, Battalion Chief and Emergency Manager
3400 W. Vine
Fort Collins, CO 80521
970-416-2878
Email: migavin@poudre-fire.org

City of Fort Collins Streets
Contact: Larry Schneider, Streets Superintendent
625 9th street, PO Box 580
Fort Collins, CO 80522
(970) 221-6755
Email: lschneider@fcgov.com

City of Loveland / Loveland Fire Rescue Authority
Contact: Lt. Pat Mialy, MA, CEM, MEP, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator
410 E. 5th Street
Loveland, CO. 80537
(970)962-2534 office
(970)962-2922 fax
Pat.Mialy@cityofloveland.org

ClimateWise, City of Fort Collins
Contact: Kathy Collier, LEED AP BD+C
700 Wood Street
P.O. Box 580
Fort Collins, CO 80522
(970) 221-6312 | Office
(970) 221-6619 | Fax

Colorado Ambulatory Surgery Center Association
Contact: Chris Skagen, Associate Executive Director
(303) 761-1048
Email: chris@cascacolorado.com

Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Contact: Melissa Arnett, Operations Planner
9195 E. Mineral Avenue, Suite 200
Centennial, CO 80112
(720) 852-6727
Email: Melissa.arnett@state.co.us

Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Contact: Lisa Frank
690 Kipling Street, Suite 210
Lakewood, CO 80215
(303) 239-4383
Email: lisa.frank@state.co.us

Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
Contact: Fran Santagata, Community Preparedness Program Manager
9195 Mineral Avenue, Suite 200
Centennial, CO 80112
(720) 852-6616
Email: fran.santagata@state.co.us

Colorado State University: Environmental Health Services/ Emergency Management
Contact: Ken Quintana
6021 Campus Delivery
Fort Collins, CO 80523-6021
(970) 567-6589
Email: ken.quintana@colostate.edu

Colorado Veterinary Medical Foundation: Animal Emergency Management Program
Contact: Deborah Foote, MPA Director
191 Yuma Street, Denver, CO 80223
(303) 539-7633 (phone)
(866) 854-7278 (toll free)
(720) 218-4692 (cell)
(303) 318-0450 (fax)
Email: deborahfoote@cvmf.org

Denver Health & Hospital Authority, Paramedic Division
Contact: Scott Bookman, Chief Paramedic
600 S. Bannock Street, MC 0172
Denver, CO 80204
(303) 602-2566
Email: scott.bookman@dhha.org

Denver Health Medical Center
Contact: Jenny Schmitz, Emergency Manager
777 Bannock Street
Denver, CO  80204
(303) 436-3086
Email: jenny.schmitz@dhha.org

Earthquake Safety Implementation Program
Contact: Laurence Kornfield
City Hall, Room 362
1 Dr. Carleton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA 94102
(415) 307-6707
Email: laurence.kornfield@sfgov.org

Emergency Preparedness Initiative (EPI) Global
Contact: Rebecca Hansen, Program Director
Email: Hansen@epiglobal.org
http://disaster.colostate.edu/Data/Sites/1/internshipfiles/epiglobalinternoutlinefeb2012.pdf
Internship Description available here.

Estes Park Office of Emergency Management
Contact: Eric Rose, Estes Park Police Commander
Email: erose@estes.org

FEMA Corps
Contact: Rachel Folk, Assistant Community Relations Specialist
AmeriCorps NCCC, Southwest Region Campus
3001 S. Federal Blvd.
Walsh Hall, Room 136
Denver, CO 80236
(303) 844-7438
(202) 423-5668
Email: rfolk@cns.gov
Recruitment letter, click here

Jackson County Emergency Management
Contact: Kent Crowder, Jackson County Administrator and Director of Emergency Management
404 4th Street, P.O. Box 1019, Walden, CO 80480
(970) 723-4660
Email: colojacksonadm@aol.com

Lake County Emergency Management
Emergency Management Contact: Mike McHargue
(719) 201-0773
Email: LCEM@LakeCountyEM.org

Larimer County Commissioner’s Office
Contact: Suzanne Bassinger, Recovery Manager
200 W. Oak Street
Fort Collins, CO 80525
(970) 498-7148
Email: sbassinger@larimer.org

Larimer County Department of Health and Environment
Contact: Jane Viste, Public Information Officer
1525 Blue Spruce Drive
Fort Collins, CO 80524
(970) 498-6750
Email: vistemj@co.larimer.co.us

Mayor’s Office of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
Contact: Patricia (Pat) Williams, Deputy Director
1437 Bannock Street, Room 3
Denver, CO 80202
(720) 865-7897
Email: patricia.williams2@denvergov.org

Natural Hazard Center at University of Colorado, Boulder
Contact: Kathleen Tierney, Director
(303) 492-6818
Email: tierneyk@colorado.edu

NoCo Rebuilding Network
Contact: Phil Benstein
P.O. Box 587
Fort Collins, CO 80522
(970) 215-6524
Email: Phil@NoCoRebuilding.org
Alternate Contact: Amy Alcorn
Email: Amy@NoCoRebuilding.org

Office of Emergency Preparedness and Response
Contact: Curt Drennen, Behavioral Health Planner and Manager
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
(303) 691-4941
Email: cdphe.co.train@state.co.us

San Luis Valley Regional Emerency Preparedness and Response
Contact: David Osborn, Regional EPR Planning Coordinator
(719) 587-5213
Email: dosborn@alamosacounty.org

St. Vrain Valley School District
Contact: Stacy Davis
(303) 682-7207
Email: davis_stacy@SVVSD.org

Trauma, Health & Hazards Centers at University of Colorado, Colorado Springs
Contact: Charles Benight, Director of CU Trauma
Columbine Hall 4017
Colorado Springs, CO
(719) 255-4180
Email: benight@uccs.edu

University of Colorado Health Central
Contact: Patrick Conroy
(720) 848-6632
Email: Patrick.Conroy@UCHealth.org

University of Colorado Health North
Contact: Tim Klippert
(970) 624-4171
Email: Tim.Klippert@UCHealth.org

University of Colorado Health South
Contact: Cindy Corsaro
(719) 244-7088
Email: Cindy.Corsaro@UCHealth.org

Wide Area Recovery & Resiliency Program (WARRP)
Contact: Elizabeth DiPaolo, Program Analyst
(303) 332-6336
Email: dipaoloelizabeth@gmail.com